“The Transit of Venus” – A celestial Experience…!


Three days ago, I came to know that the morning star, Venus (2nd planet in our solar system), is going to be seen as a passing planet from the midst of Earth and The Sun – The TRANSIT…

I love to witness such rare and astronomical happenings and was really fascinated by the information…

My dad bought a solar-filter, through which we will be able to see the bright sun… Through it, the sun was looking as a smaller moon… πŸ™‚

Solar Filter

Today morning (06-June-2012), as soon as I woke up, I took the filter and ran upstairs to check for the black spot (Venus) on the bright sun…

I could see it… It was awesome…

Though I could not keep looking for a longer time, I saw it repeatedly and enjoyed the whole thing… I have also shown it to many of my neighbours, friends and cousins and shared the experience with them all…

Just now, I googled for more info. regarding this…Β 

Here are some of the pics and info. about Earth, Venus and how often does something like this happen…

Well, I am lucky for being in the area where the transit is in progress at Sunrise (India)… πŸ™‚ If it were on yesterday’s evening (05-June-2012), I could not have seen it as it was raining then… πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

This is what actually happened out there… Just like a Solar-Eclipse (but since Venus is not as close to us as Β  moon, it only appeared as a small black spot…)

Oh… We are almost similar in size, mass, density and yet much different in other parameters… It must be too hot there and daily, a no-moon day… Isn’t it… πŸ˜›

The Next Transit will be in…

Such a transit occurs at time intervals of ‘8-121.5-8-105.5 yrs’ and so on… So, the next time this is expected to happen is in 2117 and I think no one who is alive today will be able to see it once again…!Β This is really exciting to know… πŸ™‚

All this ended with a little discussion among us wondering how ‘small‘ we are when compared to these planets, stars and the universe… and how odd it is that we all still think – “I am the center of the universe”…! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜›

This has become a memorable event in our lives and really enjoyed witnessing such a phenomenon of majestic reality…

What are you thinking...!?

