It is with your society…


I remember myself waking up by 5’o clock in the morning to attend my college and returning home only at 10’o clock in the night… The college timings were from 6am to 9pm with just 1hr lunch break in the afternoon and two 10min breaks for refreshments…

I used to appear for 3 tests every week, none without proper prepration… The only holidays were on festivals and national holidays (college used to be on! even on sundays)… Even, most of the discussions among friends involved conceptual issues that used to be really helpful to comprehend and understand the topics covered…

That was me in intermediate (for 2 yrs), about 3-4 yrs ago… The result was obvious… Inspite of the result, I have learnt the basics of Sciences in a fool-proof manner, because of which I stand out of everybody in my class today…

Now, I wake up at 7’o clock and I am only preparing to appear for exams… The scope of my discussions with friends limit mostly to movies, silly jokes, 3rd party matters etc… My college timings are from 9:30am to 4:30pm. Even a few min delay in leaving the class or lab maks us all restless…

I am still one of the toppers in class, but am only just another typical degree student…

Whenever I think of the ‘Intermediate me’, I ask myself – “Was it really me?”… and the only answer I always had is that Society Limits the Intelligence of its Individuals

The Society I am speaking of is the challenges we give to ourself and more importantly, the company of people we keep… The Society (both together) act as limiting factor for our productivity and inturn, our growth…

What I understood is that the society we are a part of is a double-edged sword… It has both the power to create and to destroy. It has a tremendous baring on the way we think, the way we look at others and ourselves, our present and the future we will create…

True, there are people who have emerged ‘in spite’ of their surroundings… but, I am not discussing exceptions here… The majority of human minds are shaped by their environment… ‘because’ of their surroundings…

If we arn’t growing at the place at which we can and if we are not living life with grace and dignity with which we can, then we may have to make a bold dicision… If it isn’t creating us, we will have to shift ourselves into a different society from where we can grow…

It is a tough decision, but a needed one too… What’s the point in wasting a good seed in a heep of garbage..?

One thought on “It is with your society…

  1. Pingback: Are we doing Justification to our potential…!? | Chandra Teja U

What are you thinking...!?

